top of page

My Writing Process

I was invited to take part of this #mywritingprocess blog hop that is going on where us writers talk about our writing processes and to introduce you to other authors that will be doing this. I should have three but unfortunately I was only able to find one that hasn't done it and has a blog!

But before I get started, I want to thank Jen Cousineau for inviting me along on this journey. You can check out her website here. I have her book A Deadly Bet waiting for me to read, can't wait!

So question #1: What are you currently working on?

I'm currently working on book two in the Tragic Hope trilogy called Torn Love. I wish I could share a photo with you of the cover but can't! I recently changed it and want to wait and do a cover reveal. I decided instead of doing just Lily's POV like Tragic Hope, it is going to be both Lily and Nate's (aka Scraps) POV so new cover needed to be done. And boy is he talkative to me. I don't think he liked me leaving this book unfinished as long as I have :) I hope to have to out in the fall of this year.

Question #2: How does my work differ from others in its' genre?

This is tough for me to answer because I haven't read too much in these particular genres (New Adult/Contemporary Romance). I think I tend to stick more of the story of how the characters get together than focus on sexual aspects or their dating.

Question #3: Why do I write what I do?

Because it is what pops in my head lol. I have thought about writing different genres like paranormal/supernatural since that is what I read the most but I am afraid it would be too similar to things I've already read. Honestly though if I had an idea for one and it screamed at me, I would write it down!

Question #4: How does my writing process work?

Wow this is a loaded one for me. It differs. I wrote Tragic Hope completely by hand. I would replay scenes I wrote while going to bed to see what I wanted next or if things needed to be added. Dyed Thoughts was written very quickly and mostly on the computer. Worth the Wait was written on the computer and my phone with exception of the first chapter which was handwritten. Torn Love will be a combination of handwritten and computer. Unfortunately I have to do more computer writing nowadays due to pain I get in my wrist.

Once a book is written, or even just scenes, I print them out to edit. I do usually 3-4 edits per chapter along the way. I don't think I've ever had to cut a scene, it's usually that I need to add things to make chapters longer!

I also do my best writing in bed. I don't know what it is about bedtime that sparks my creativity and I don't mean that in a naughty way either lol

Well I hope you enjoyed this post and please check out this author next week for her post on her writing process!

Meet Theresa Hissong:

Theresa is a mother of two and the wife of a retired Air Force Master Sergeant. After seventeen years traveling the country, moving from base to base, the family has settled their roots back in Theresa’s home town of Olive Branch, MS., where she enjoys her time with old friends and family.

After almost three years of managing a retail bookstore, Theresa has gone behind the scenes to write romantic stories with flare. A romance lover through and through, Theresa daydreams of the perfect love affair and takes those ideas to paper.

Her website/blog is authortheresahissong.com You can find her on all of my social media here: Twitter: @AuthorTHissong Facebook: www.facebook.com/authortheresahissong

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page